You are here

Exposed: Global Poker - Don't Deposit Real Money w/o Reading This!

Global Poker Logo

Global Poker Brags

✓ USA acceptedUSA Tiny Flag
✓ $2 free no deposit bonus via snail mail

Global Poker Beats

x Kicked out of PayPal
x Confusing business model
x Possibility of future legal trouble
x Software is quite basic with few frills
x Accepts only USA and CA players
x Extremely high cash game rake
x No HUD compatability

 

In February 2017, a new poker room hit the U.S. online scene. Global Poker is a division of VGW Holdings, which also runs Chumba Casino. Global used to allow you to deposit via PayPal and withdraw your winnings back to your PayPal account:  very convenient for users. However, this functionality has now been disabled! Although we don't know for sure, we speculate that PayPal has deemed Global's services to be a disallowed form of gambling. This is just one instance of Global not being all that it was billed as being.

We have prepared this review so that, if you should elect to play at Global, you'll be going in with your eyes fully open and won't be blindsided by anything unexpected. We do recommend that poker players stay away, however, especially newcomers to the game. You can find a list of reputable internet poker rooms that accept Americans and allow real money play in our U.S.A. online poker guide.



GLOBAL POKER ALTERNATIVES w/ THE:

USA Flag

Real Money Guide for US Players
Safe, Legal, Secure Poker Sites

 


Global Poker Business Model

Most online poker operations have certain similarities in the way they're set up. Users deposit money, play with it at the tables, and then cash out any winnings they're fortunate enough to collect. We feel that this way of doing things goes without saying, and so we don't mention much about it in most of our poker site reviews: It's just a given. Not so in the case of Global Poker.

You see, PayPal does not allow U.S. residents to use its services for internet gambling, so Global has come up with workarounds that it contends makes its games fall outside the category of gambling. You can deposit real money and cash it out like normal at Global, but what happens in between is unique to this poker room.

Unlawful internet gambling notice
Restricted transactions as defined in Federal Reserve Regulation GG are prohibited from being processed through your PayPal account or your relationship with PayPal.  Restricted transactions generally include, but are not limited to, transactions in which credit, electronic fund transfers, checks, or drafts are knowingly accepted by gambling businesses in connection with unlawful Internet gambling [1]

When you fund your Global account, you are really buying practice chips, called “Gold Coins.” These are just like the chips found at Zynga Poker or the play money section of PokerStars. There are play money games running around the clock at Global, both cash games and tournaments, and leaderboards even reward those who display the most acumen in these not-for-real tables.

Additionally, you also get “$weeps Cash” when you buy Gold Coins. There are separate games that demand $weeps Cash buyins, and they're shown in different lobbies than the Gold Coin tables. You can cash out $weeps Cash at a 1:1 exchange rate for U.S. dollars. It's also possible to complete a process of mailing in forms to get a small sum of $weeps Cash for free each month. Global contends that this arrangement makes its poker games a type of sweepstakes, not gambling.

Global states that its lawyers have carefully constructed these plans to ensure that they're in compliance with all relevant statutes. The firm asserts that PayPal has looked over its operations and approves of them. We don't know, however, how closely PayPal has examined what's going on. It may be that PayPal personnel just took a cursory glance at Global before giving it a tentative nod. Perhaps when they found out what's really taking place, i.e., barely disguised real money gaming, PayPal had a change of heart, possibly the true explanation for Global ceasing to feature PayPal anymore as a payment processor.

What happens when a Federal judge applies the 80/20 rule?

How "barely disguised" is this real money poker? Some further insight was to be found when Jonas Odman, General Manager of Global Poker, gave a talk on February 9th, 2018 at an industry conference in London, England. When asked what percentage of the site's volume was Gold Coins versus $weeps Cash, he visibly stuttered and then stated "roughly have 20 percent of our tables, Gold Coin play, and 80 percent $weeps play."

Yes, you read that correctly. Only 20% of Global Poker's volume is their proposed purpose, and the remaining 80% of their action is essentially real money gambling hiding in plain sight! You can listen to the relevant segment of Jonas' presentation below:

It's important to note that whenever PayPal detects that something is amiss, it typically cracks down not just on the offenders themselves but also individuals who have engaged in transactions with those parties in the past. If it was really PayPal who severed the business relationship rather than Global, any deposits and withdrawals you made at the poker site could conceivably be caught up in the dispute too. Your money might be frozen for a long time or even removed from your PayPal account entirely though this hasn't happened to anyone yet.

Another element to consider is that the money you deposit is used to purchase Gold Chips. The $weeps Cash is just an added bonus granted to you when you buy Gold Chips; it's not considered something of value in its own right. This means that in the event that Global Poker gets shut down, you won't be entitled to a refund of your $weeps balance. It also means that Global's parent company, VGW Holdings, is under no obligation to keep player funds segregated or to maintain enough cash reserves to pay them out.

Speaking of getting shut down, what happens when this goes to court? When a judge sees this complicated legal trickery and decides to apply the good old 80/20 rule, what do you think is going to happen?

Global Poker Signup Offers

Global doesn't exactly provide a wealth of benefits to new customers. With every registration, the user gets $2 in $weeps and 10,000 Gold Coins. This at least gives newcomers the chance to check out the poker action in both currencies on the house albeit for very small stakes. There's no deposit bonus of any kind.

Global Poker Software and Games

The software used at Global Poker was developed by Cubeia, a Swedish enterprise that focuses on building applications for the online gambling industry. This platform was designed to be fully mobile-compatible, and it uses only HTML5 and JavaScript, meaning there's no bulky download to install.

This means that it works on virtually every computing device, but there are certain shortcomings. Waiting lists are absent, so if you want to sit at a full table, you'll have to open it up and hope that another player departs soon. There are only a handful of lobby settings, like four color deck and mute sound, as opposed to the dozens of configurable options at mainstream online poker sites. It's not possible to download hand history files. Instead, you can view a listing of the hands you've played within your browser and then select them one at a time to replay. Needless to say, HUD trackers don't work at all on Global Poker.

Global Poker Cash Games

The $weeps ring games run from the equivalent of $0.02/$0.04 up through $10/$20 in NL Texas Hold'em. There are six-max and nine-player tables, but heads-up games are absent. PL Omaha is available at the same blind levels although the action is a bit less bustling than it is in NLHE. Limit Hold'em was added to Global in August 2017, but there's hardly ever anyone playing it. Crazy Pineapple is present too. Originally spread only for Gold Chip play money games, Crazy Pineapple was added to the $weeps Cash section in November 2018 at stakes from $0.02/$0.04 to $1/$2 in No Limit form.

Cash Game Table at Global Poker$0.50/$1.00 No Limit Texas Hold'em Ring Game at Global Poker

Below, we have prepared a video showing the cash games at Global both for $weeps and Gold Coins. Check it out if you want to know more about the Global Poker tables:


Global Poker $weeps Cash and Gold Coin Ring Games Video


Global Poker Ring Game Rake

The rake in Global Poker ring games is 5% across the board. The maximum possible rake taken varies from $1 to $5.50 depending on the format of the game, the stakes, and the number of players in the hand. Taking 5% for the house is pretty standard across the internet poker industry although there are a few rooms that rake less. The $5.50 cap at the highest stakes is, however, a bit more than at most competing sites, which cap the rake at $3 or $4.

Especially worrisome are the rake amounts for heads-up, three-handed, and four-max play. It's typical for a card room, whether brick and mortar or online, to give users a significant discount on the rake charged when playing shorthanded. This is done because the edges are smaller, the action is faster, and much more rake is charged per player, per hand, and per hour. However in Global Poker's case, these rake caps tend to be only slightly lower when the tables are short than when they're full.

Versus their competition, GP gets two thumbs down in this category. You can learn more about online poker rake and the lowest-raking sites in our comprehensive comparison of the rake charged by leading internet poker organizations.

Rake Charts for Global Poker
Rake Charts for Global Poker Big-Bet and Fixed-Limit Cash Games

Global Poker Sit & Gos

Global's $weeps SNG lobby starts at the low $0.50 + $0.05 level and climbs up to $200 + $18. Most games are NLHE, but a few PLO possibilities exist as well There are regular-speed, turbo, and hyper-turbo contests, but unfortunately, both regular and turbo games charge a full 10% fee. Hyper turbo players do get a small rake break down to 7%, but this is still higher than at competing sites. For a rundown of sites for sit-and-goes that don't charge such exorbitant fees, look at our list of best SNG sites for Americans.

Jackpot Sit'N'Go

In February 2019, Global introduced “lottery-style” sit-and-goes to its lobby. Called “Jackpot Sit'N'Go” these hyper turbo contests seat three and use a random multiplier to determine the size of the prize pool.

The buyins for these Jackpot games are $2, $6, $12, $20, and $30. Multiplier values range from 2x up to 2,000x.

All Jackpot Sit'N'Gos are winner-takes-all apart from when the highest multiplier is hit. When this happens, all three participants win something with a 75%/15%/10% breakdown of the cash.

Global Poker Tournaments

The daily tourney roster at Global has events priced from $2.20 through $55. There are guarantees on many of these MTTs, but they're pretty small. For instance, the $50 + $5 daily tournament guarantees only $4,000, which corresponds to a field of just 80 entrants. On the weekends, the MTT lineup grows and distributes greater amounts of money.

However, some of the most interesting events on the schedule aren't open to all – hopeful participants must complete challenges (see below) to gain the opportunity to join these tournaments. The $33 Weekend Gold Coin Challenge $10,000 Guaranteed (2R1A) is one such event. Before being able to pay their $33 and enter, players must see 200 flops in Gold Coin cash games previously during the week.

MTT Lobby at Global Poker
The Tournament Lobby at Global Poker

Global Poker Promotions

The majority of the promos at Global Poker come through the challenges system. By completing certain tasks, players can earn rewards. Most of these perks are entry into tournaments whether freerolls or contests that require that a further buyin be paid. The challenges typically reset every day or week, so you have to keep playing to re-earn the same rewards each time you wish to partake in them.

From time to time there are tourney series with added leaderboard prizes, special deals awarding free $weeps, and social media promotions. These promos are short-lived, however, and during most of the year, you'll find only scant opportunities for complimentary rewards at Global Poker.

Global Poker Cashier

Gold Coins Available for Purchase in the Global Cashier

All transactions, deposits and withdrawals, were handled exclusively through PayPal at Global Poker until very recently. Besides the reasons we enumerated before as to why PayPal might not have been the best processor to use, there was also the further demerit of trusting in a single third party for payouts. Even without considering the more worrisome aspects of Global's sweepstakes vision, relying upon one and only one partner for cashouts is courting trouble. Payment firms come and go all the time, and even those that endure often change their rules and restrictions from time to time.

It turns out that our fears were warranted as Global ended support for PayPal at the end of June 2018. It's not exactly clear what went on behind the scenes to cause such a step to be taken, but we highly suspect that it was PayPal that booted Global and not the other way around.

We've long felt that the addition of multiple payout channels, perhaps including Bitcoin, would help to insulate Global Poker and its customers from any falling out with PayPal. This would have prevented users from being at the mercy of PayPal's decisions regarding their money. We covered the case of Stefan Christopher, a high-stakes pro that has had his money tied up for more than six months because of PayPal's actions.

Sadly, Global doesn't seem to have learned from its experiences. For around nine months, it has conducted all money transactions through Worldpay. Again, it was relying upon a single avenue for payments and putting all its eggs in one basket. With the March 2019 decision to add Skrill as a deposit method, this situation may have been alleviated somewhat, but we'll have to wait and see how things shake out.

The Worldpay Connection

Global Poker has recently brought Worldpay on board to handle some of its transactions. Worldpay is an experienced payments firm that does more than $700 billion in transaction value annually. Global added Worldpay credit card deposits and bank transfer withdrawals to its cashier in June 2016. After it announced the news via email, “GlobalPoker_Joey” said on Twoplustwo:

However, it turned out that the changes at Global were not just confined to expanding the payment options available to users. The initial batch of customers who gained access to Worldpay-based credit card deposits and bank transfer withdrawals were banned from PayPal transactions! Even worse, Global decided for each user which cashier method that person would be able to employ! Individual players had no input in this decision. Check out this email that was sent to the “lucky” users who were selected for Worldpay deposits and cashouts:

Email From Global Poker About WorldpayThe Email Global Poker Sent to Certain Customers
Notice the Troubling Text Highlighted in Red

Some affected users contacted support and asked to be returned to PayPal, but no dice: They were informed that they had been permanently flagged to use Worldpay. This is a problem for people who don't want to receive their withdrawals back to a bank account either because they lack such an account of because they don't wish to commingle the other funds in their account with online poker money.

Another issue is that these bank transfers take between three and five business days to be completed whereas Global used to offer same-day or next-day payments through PayPal. Before making a cashout through bank transfer, players must submit a bank statement showing their banking details, which introduces further delays into the process.

Instead of increasing the number of payment channels from one to two, Global merely switched some users, without their consent, from one to another. Whatever the reasons for this adjustment, the way the company went about it was deceptive and shows a lack of concern for customers.

In any event, Global soon moved all customers over to the Worldpay system and discontinued support for PayPal entirely. Account holders were informed of the change June 26 – with the effective date of June 30 just four days away!

Needless to say, there was a lot of outrage at this decision. Because all Worldpay withdrawals occur through bank transfers, anyone who wants to keep his or her bank accounts separate from online poker activities must find another place to play besides Global. The short notice Global gave of this move has probably led to a few players not making their final PayPal cashout in time and having to either use a form of payout that they would rather have avoided or else forfeit their account balances.

We have a copy of the email Global composed announcing the change, and you can take a look at it below:

Global Poker Email About Moving All Customers Over to WorldpayEmail Sent by Global Poker Explaining the Forced Migration to Worldpay


Skrill Added

On or around March 18, 2019, Global Poker added Skrill as a payment option for its customers. Skrill is an e-wallet, kind of like PayPal, that lets users move their money around the internet and spend it with participating merchants. Players now see Skrill (formerly known as Moneybookers) along with credit card as valid deposit instruments in the Global cashier:

Global Poker CashierSkrill Is Now Listed in the Global Poker Cashier

At around the same time, mainstream news outlets started reporting that Global Poker's existing payment processor, Worldpay, was being acquired by Fidelity National Information Services (FIS) in an extraordinary deal valued at $35 billion.

Almost immediately, speculation started that the new owners of Worldpay don't want to have anything to do with Global, and this is the reason for Skrill now being accepted. Site rep Kimber was quick to deny that anything like this was taking place:

However, given the timing of the events and the similar statements previously made by Global regarding Worldpay replacing PayPal, many remain skeptical.

There's another problem with this Skrill news. While this firm is one of the leading gambling transaction portals around the world, it strictly prohibits its services from being used by United States customers for such purposes. Here's the relevant section of its U.S. Terms of Use page:

Excerpt from the Skill Terms of Use

“Unlawful Internet Gambling, Sweepstakes” is the very first item listed as prohibited! Global is probably relying on its argument that its $weeps games are not real money poker but rather a form of sweepstakes to get around this clause.

The fact that “Sweepstakes” is specifically mentioned as a disallowed activity doesn't look good for Global's future with Skrill. We wouldn't be surprised if Skrill eventually opts to bar Global and its customers from transacting through its products in a reprise of the PayPal debacle.

Global Poker says that it is investigating other payment channels also. We hope that the company eventually provides a well-rounded menu of cashier options, but it seems that so far, every processor Global decides to partner with has come with significant drawbacks.

Gold Coins, $weeps, and Other Cashier Details

As we mentioned before, $weeps is basically the equivalent of U.S. dollars while Gold Coins represent play money. Global's cashier interface offers several packages of Gold Coins that one can buy at tiers from $10 to $5,000. For example, for $10, you'll get 50,000 Gold Coins. With your purchase, you'll also receive an amount of $weeps equal to the sum you pay.

However, there is one exception to this; the $750 level is a Gold Coin-only package. Whoever selects this option will receive 3,750,000 Gold Coins and 0 $weeps. The inclusion of a non-$weeps Cash selection is likely an attempt to satisfy whoever is watching that the play money games are a viable product even without any $weeps being involved.

We feel sorry for whoever inadvertently clicks on the $750 package without carefully reading the description of it and gets only play chips. If management truly felt that it was important to allow people to purchase Gold Coins only, then they could have priced such an option more reasonably, say, at $20 or $50.

The minimum withdrawal amount is $50, and there is no stated maximum, but we have heard from credible sources that payouts of $50,000 at a time are not unknown.

Identity Verification

Before a cashout will be sent to them, players must enter in their personal info and submit corroborating documents. At most internet poker sites, this is a mere formality, but at Global, it can lead to trouble. Many people have had to send in their paperwork multiple times, often without Global Poker even acknowledging receipt of it. On the upside, once all this identity verification is finally completed, users report getting paid within a few days although it takes a longer time now than it did with PayPal.

There's something even worse about submitting documents to Global Poker: The company has inadvertently revealed ID, proof of address, and banking information to outside parties. The reason for this is that the firm failed to tick a box in its ZenDesk software that would have required customers to be logged in before viewing their own documents. As a result, anyone possessing the URL pointing to the files could access them.

This security hole was finally plugged in June 2018 after being brought to the attention of Global Poker management on the Twoplustwo forums. You can read more about this topic in our article on the Global Poker document security failure.

ROTW Players Beware

There's something else that's extremely relevant to the topic of Global Poker cashouts, and this is that only people in the United States and Canada can request them. Actually, there is even some debate on this because Jonas Odman, the room's general manager, has stated publicly (in the video posted above at the 16:07 mark) that $weeps tables are only available to players in the United States. However, other comments from Global staff indicate that Canadians are welcome to play for $weeps and cash out except for residents of Quebec.

Perhaps Jonas and his confederates don't think of Canada as a real country? Maybe, as a native of Norway Sweden, Jonas is confused about North American geography? For those of you in Canada, we highly recommend you read our guide to the best Canadian online poker sites and avoid the ambiguity about whether or not Global will actually pay you if you win or not.

Those from other countries can play at the site, and even make deposits, but they are currently unable to claim any of their winnings. This dubious policy can lead to unhappy situations, like one that was posted on Twoplustwo wherein someone from the United Kingdom deposited a four-figure sum only to find out later on that he could not ever withdraw any of his winnings nor receive a refund of his deposit.

Global would probably contend that it allows players from most of the world to purchase Gold Coins for the purpose of enjoying the play money games, but this is a deceptive line of reasoning, and there are probably quite a few people from outside North America who are fooled in this manner.

Global Poker Message Shown to UsersAt Least Global Started Showing Customers a Popup Alerting Them to the Geographic Restrictions on Cashouts

Here at Professional Rakeback we maintain a payout report that is updated monthly and covers a wide range of websites that offer poker, sports betting, and casino games. In this report we also cover Global Poker cashouts, so take a look for yourself if you are curious how we score them and various other gambling sites.

Global Poker Complaints

Many players at Global have raised concerns about the way this operation does business. Although for its initial few months, the room appeared to be doing things totally legitimately, its decisions since that time have left many disappointed.

The entire cashier and payouts situation has subjected many users to inconveniences and irritations. Identity verification often requires multiple submissions of documents, which are sometimes rejected for inexplicable reasons. PayPal users who appreciated the speed and ease-of-use of this processor are livid at the switch over to Worldpay transactions.

Apparently random account suspensions, player-unfriendly handling of technical glitches in MTT series, security holes with customers' personal documents, and declining player liquidity have users worried about the long-term future of Global. Occasional snafus are bound to pop up from time to time at any internet poker site, but the management of Global seems utterly clueless as to how best to address these issues, causing plenty of ire in the player community.

What Others Are Saying

 

Players

Mixed reviews from players. There are complaints about everything from the RNG to, tough games, to a confusing lobby where people accidentally spend hours playing play money games instead of the real money games they intended to play. On the plus side, players in some regulated states appreciate having another place to play (if only for a while before the regulators notice what is going on).

Tough games abound at Global Poker's reg infested tables
Balance discrepancies exacerbated by lack of hand histories
Many accusations of colluding poker bots as well as illegal and unfair use of hand history converters and heads up displays on Global Poker.
Global Poker's FaceBook offer of a free $20 no deposit offer reneged.

Johnspence at 2+2 forums laments the lack of support options as well as missing money after a Global Poker server crash.
Reddit /r/poker user Jascarn comments on June 2nd 2018 about tough games full of multi-tabling regs.

Global Poker Customer Support

Users can contact support through email 24 hours a day. There's also an active Global Poker Facebook profile that responds to messages. Global sponsors its own forum at Twoplustwo, but it's not as good as it could be. Sometimes days or weeks go by before the forum reps address player concerns. There is no telephone number that players can call to speak directly with customer service personnel.

Conclusion

Global Poker aspires to provide fully legal online poker to the United States by adhering to a sweepstakes model, but many entities have endeavored to do so in the past, and their efforts have come to naught. Global may have violated PayPal rules, which is probably the reason it no longer transacts with this respected e-wallet organization. Customers have been greatly inconvenienced not only by this sudden switch in payment processors but also by having their personal information visible for the world to see.

There are  too many red flags with the Global Poker brand  for us to recommend it to any of our readers at this time. Instead, you may wish to try our top recommended site, Ignition Poker.

Global Poker FAQ

If you still have any questions about Global Poker and the way it's set up, then look below in our FAQ because we've collected a wealth of information on this topic.

Who owns Global Poker? - Global Poker is a division of VGW Holdings, which was founded in 2010. Before going live with Global Poker, VGW opened the Chumba Casino, which operates according to a similar sweepstakes model and is still going strong today.

Where are they located?  - VGW is an Australian company. There are VGW personnel in many places around the globe, but there are large concentrations of them in Sydney, Perth, and Manila. The address of the VGW head office is:

Level 8, 191 St. Georges Tce
Perth
WA 6000
Australia

When was Global Poker started? - Global Poker opened its doors in February 2017.

Can I use tracking and heads-up display software at Global? - Many players at various poker sites enjoy the use of PokerTracker 4, Holdem Manager 2, Holdem Indicator, and other hand tracking and HUD packages. However, these programs don't work at Global Poker, so there's no easy way to maintain a database of your hands or get stats on your opponents.

How can I reach customer service? - You can get assistance with your queries by sending an email to support[at]globalpoker.com. There's also a dedicated support forum for Global Poker over at Twoplustwo, but it may take a while to receive a response from company representatives if you choose to make a post about your issue.

What is the Global Poker sign-up bonus? - Apart from a free 2 in no deposit $weeps Cash and some complimentary Gold Coins, there's no welcome bonus at Global. You'll have to earn your cash directly at the tables by defeating your opponents because the rewards provided by Global are very paltry.

How long does it take to cash out? - There are sometimes delays of up to 5 days in the process of verifying your personal information by submitting the appropriate documents. Once this chore is completed (it only needs to be done once), withdrawals take between a couple of days and a week. You can stay on top of Global's cashout speeds by checking our online poker payout report and learn about the fastest paying online poker, casino, and sports betting sites. The report is updated monthly.

Is there a Global Poker affiliate program? - Global Poker does have an affiliate program, but it's only open to larger sites rather than being available to smaller affiliates like most poker rooms are. More worrisome, perhaps, is the fact that Global doesn't do traditional deals for ongoing revenue share. This means that affiliates don't have any incentive to follow up with Global and make sure its players are being properly taken care of after they're signed up.

How do I get free $weeps Cash? - If you are interested in obtaining free $weeps Cash, then there's a procedure you can follow to get $6 worth at a time by sending in envelopes as long as you reside in the United States or Canada (excluding the Province of Quebec). In order to claim this free $weeps, you must have previously created a Global Poker account. You have to use hand-written, stamped #10 envelopes. Put your full name and return address on the front of an envelope along with the words “Global Poker Sweepstakes Credits:” followed by the month and year. Then send the envelope to:

VIRTUAL GAMING WORLDS,
GLOBAL POKER SWEEPSTAKES DEPARTMENT,
548 MARKET ST #73140,
SAN FRANCISCO, CA 94104

Your account will be credited with $6 in $weeps within 5 days. In order to cash out any winnings from these $weeps, you have to complete a minimum playthrough of 20x.

Unfortunately, as reported by Twoplustwo user “RalphWaldoEmerson,” the address listed above appears to be fake. He posted a photograph, which we have reproduced below, showing that the building at that location is boarded up with instructions to deliver all mail next door. We don't know exactly what's going on here, but it doesn't look good for Global Poker.

Office of Global Poker in San FranciscoGlobal Poker's San Francisco “Location”

Why does Global Poker use this weird hybrid Gold Coins and $weeps system? - Global Poker claims that this rather unusual way of denominating its games makes it legal as a form of sweepstakes rather than gambling. We have our doubts about this, which you can read about above in our review.


We are going to leave the comments section open for a while in case any of you wish to chime in and share your own personal experiences. If you happen to be a Global Poker employee, affiliate, or owner, we would be especially keen to hear from you either publicly in the comments, or privately (just contact us).

Comments

How did you get the bank to refund your deposits? They have been giving me the run around on a $300 cash out attempt for 3 months. This site is clearly a scam. I just want the money I deposited back . What should I tell my bank?

THIS SITE IS RIGGED WHICH IS WHY I FOUGHT TO GET MY CREDIT CARD MONEY BACK AND SUCCEEDED. I RECOMMEND EVERYONE HERE TRY TO GET THEIR MONEY BACK

Joseph,

It looks like you are still having caps-lock issues. We are sorry to see that pressing that button at the appropriate time is so challenging for you. It may shed some light into why you have issues beating the games at Global Poker/believe their RNG to be rigged to make you lose, but we digress.

Making charge backs for your gambling losses is something a coward does. It is something a pathetic individual who is incapable of accepting responsibility for their actions does. You lost the money straight up due to your lack of skills at the game of poker. Take it like a man and improve your game so that you can win.

Don't become a thief.

Good luck at the tables!

Payouts have been slow lately. Recently they told me that they denied my cashout "since you have not completely played the equivalent $weeps Cash value of your recent purchase."

WTF does that mean?

This response was 1 week after I requested my cashout....I've been playing at Global 1 yr+ and have never encountered this BS. Though I did think the payment processor change and all the verification requests were shitty too.

Hi Dave D,

Thanks for your comment. We are saddened to hear that on top of everything else, that payout speeds have been decreasing.

With regard to your denied cashout, we would like to point out that there is a what is commonly referred to as a "playthrough requirement" on cashouts. Even though they claim to be a "play money" site and this type of behavior is reserved for "real money poker sites", they adhere to such a policy anyway (just further solidifies the argument that this is legal trickery destined to fail in a court of law).

In a play-through requirement, a certain amount of rake must be generated before one can withdraw deposited funds. In the case of Global Poker, the amount of rake generated must be equal to the value of the $weeps cash purchased. A 1:1 ratio. So if you deposited $500, you must rake $500 before you can withdraw your deposited $weeps Cash.

For what it is worth, this is way higher than even the real money poker sites and is yet another reason to avoid this site. The industry standard play-through requirement is 15% +/- 5% of the amount deposited. Global is forcing a lot of play in order to save on processing costs (probably to cover future legal fees when some attorney general takes them to task in court!).

I recently became suspicious of global poker after losing a full house hand to a player getting 4 of a kind 4 different times and 4 different players in a 1 hour session of playing. Suspected this was total BS as the odds on that happening are incredible.

Then tried to cash out my small 60.00 win and 3 weeks after my request still no money in bank. global keeps saying they send deposit but my bank reverses deposit and sends it back. Global over and over asks me for same stupid bank and personal info every time I e-mail them.

Global Poker is a total scam and I will post to everyone on Facebook to stay away from these con artists!!!

Paul,

Thank you for sharing your story about Global Poker cashouts. It seems pretty absurd that they can not manage to pay you $60 within a 3 week time frame! Also, the fact that they keep hounding you for the same information over and over again speaks volumes as to their inefficient and unprofessional service.

Please feel free to come back and update us if they ever manage to pay you out!

I’m through the exact same problem with cashing out $300. THIS SITE IS A COMPLETE SCAM!!

It seems to be a more common problem than it should that players are having issues cashing out even small amounts of money using the WorldPay cashier (the only option) at GlobalPoker.com.

THIS SITE IS A SCAM!!!

I HAVE BEEN FIGHTING TO CASH OUT $300 A FEW MONTHS NOW AND KEEP GETTING THE RUNAROUND ASKING FOR THE SAME INFO OVER AND OVER AND SAYING THE BANK REJECTED PAYMENT WHEN THE BANK SAYS THEY HAVE NO RECORD OF ANY ATTEMPT TO WIRE OR DEPOSIT. I PROBABLY WONT EVER GET THE $300 BUT I WILL ATTEMPT TO SUE FOR MORE. THIS IS MAINLY FOR AWARENESS!!

DO NOT DEPOSIT ON GLOBAL POKER!!!

IT IS A COMPLETE SCAM!!

Awaareness,

Thanks for sharing your story with us. We are sorry to hear that you are having issues at Global Poker, but this is exactly why we have this review up, i.e. to warn others of the issues they may face when playing on Global Poker!

We echo your statement and recommendation to other poker players: DO NOT DEPOSIT ON GLOBAL POKER!!!

So I do have some questions/concerns on Global. AS far as cashing out, I've done it more than a dozen times over the last 1.5 years and have never had an issue receiving my money. I did have to verify my account after they stopped using PayPal, but it went very smoothly.

I do have concerns regarding their software though. Last year, I spent roughly 6 months in which I kept detailed records of every hand I was in that either myself or an opponent ended up all-in at some point, roughly 1,500 hands during that time. I also make 6 cash-out requests during this time, roughly 1 per Mo. When things seemed to be "normal" on Global, on all hands in which I was ahead at the moment one of us shoved all-in, I ended up winning roughly 72-76% of those hands.

However, each time I cashed out, within roughly 24-48 hours after receiving my funds, I would suddenly get hit with an insane amount of bad beats and EACH and EVERY time my win % on those hands dropped to approx 50-55%. I'm only talking specifically about hands where I was ahead when one of us chose to shove. This would go on for quite some time, the actual length varied each time. And then after getting 2-outed and runner runner to death for like a month, suddenly things would go back to "normal".

I learned to "combat this" by about a day after cashing out, dropping to the micro-limits until things seem to go back the way they should. I can't speak for anyone else, and it was only 6 months out of about 2 years period I tracked, but the pattern was pretty undeniable.

IDK how to explain or what to think, but coincidence seems way outta the question It was like every allin hand, regardless of actual pot-odds, was made into a literal coin-flip.

When I first started, I ended up getting raked for everything I had cashed plus more. I started to notice something after the first few cashes, so that's why I chose to keep my own personal details on all the hands to see exactly what kind pattern, if any.

So many hands get played so quickly that it's very easy for most people to completely over-exaggerate the % of bad beats over a long period of time. I've sat w/way more than the avg amount of people who claim that they do so much better on other sites, and how "good" they are, and within 20 min of playing with them, its clear they're rank amateurs at best, who play live half dozen times a year and consider that to be a lot.

Nate SP,

Thanks for sharing your concerns about Global Poker with us and all of our readers.

Even though we dislike Global Poker, we do not believe in "cashout curses". We would point out that your sample size is quite small and statistically insignificant. We would also point out that your methodology is unscientific.

Given these factors, one could not accurately judge whether or not the percentages you claim are reasonable or not. Off the top of our heads we could easily debunk your claims by saying that your original sample size claiming "72-76%" wins was made up of crushing hands where you had major equity and that your second sample size claiming "approx 50-55%" of wins was made with a preponderance of hands wherein you had very small equity advantages.

1500 hands, split into different categories, means that each one is a very meaningless sample size statistically speaking.

There are "illegal" hand history grabbers for Global Poker that allow players to import hands into Poker Tracker and Holdem Manager software. They are mostly used by professional poker players and hardcore grinders. To date, none of these people have made any credible claims of statistical anomalies with the Global Poker RNG.

With all that said, there are still plenty of reasons to avoid Global Poker as we have stated in our extensive review!

They have Bots that rig the tables. If you cant notice it then your blind. Dont put money into this site. I used to play on PokerStars and JetSetpoker way back in the day, back when it was kinda legal. Only two legitimate sites I've ever played on. Global Poker is rigged rigged rigged. The algorithm to the cards are set up for the bots at the tables. You will win a few hands here and there but that's just to make you think you have a chance. Save your money. Go to a real life card room or casino

Hi Jimmy!

Thanks for sharing your observations on the state of games at Global Poker.

We here at PRB were never all that fond of PokerStars, but we do look back fondly on the good old days of JetSet Poker! They had an amazing "prop" team and were very focused on the well being and happiness of players (which is the very opposite of what PokerStars does these days trying to squeeze every last smidgen of profit out of all of their partners and players!). We wish more sites used the JetSet business model! Shame they shut down eventually with all the UIGEA and Black Friday drama in the US markets.

With regard to your suggestion to "go to a real life card room or casino" we would counter that with, perhaps just try looking at our USA online poker guide and finding a reputable offshore site to play at!

I have been on Globalpoker nearly two years, there were ups and downs during my two years.

I have to agree with some of the previous comments. Some players never lose in High stakes on GP. Regardless aipf or on the turn or happens on the river, they will find a card to beat you in a hand. Especially this happened in PLO, it supposed to be a huge swing game but for then there isn’t any swing! They just win most of the hands, for sure winning every session.

Recently it’s worse, I strongly believe this site is rigged. I have stopped playing on the Globalpoker to explore more evidence.

I have been on Global since they started. Play mostly low limit.

I have cashed out many times without a problem after initial verification.

I have found that my winning streaks and losing streaks seem to be extended to long. I do agree with the rng being bad with flushes.I have 20 years of playing on line on multiple sites and have never seen 4 flushes as often as on GP.

I see that you guys recommend Ignition to play on. I joined the former Bodog/ Bovada/ Ignition/ a couple of decades ago. The only complaint I have have (now with ignition is the extended time to late register. Some tournies have late registration at over 2 hours, which is ridiculous.

That's one thing I like about GP is there is no late registration. With the extended time you can skip the first 2 hours in some tournaments and still come in with average size chip count. Never understood this.

Hello dezdezz and we want to thank you for taking time out of your day to provide us, and all of our readers, with your opinion of Global Poker!

Firstly, we still do not agree with the assertion that the RNG is crooked in some way. Even though we do not recommend Global Poker, we still believe that GP offers fair games and a legit RNG.

To your second point, we definitely do recommend Ignition and the Pai Wang Luo Network over GP. The late registration of 2 hours is actually not ridiculous at all.

At least not when compared to other competitors in the online poker market. For example, sites like PokerStars and PartyPoker, two of the largest in the world, offer late registration up to 4 hours long! Some networks take it even further, with the Winning Poker Network taking late registration as deep as 6 hours long on their major, multi-million dollar, flagship tournaments.

To address your question of not understanding why sites do this is actually rather simple. you see, when it comes to marketing to recreational players, the larger a number one can slap onto a tournament guarantee, the more rec players will be tempted to chase the big bucks. 

 

For example, if a site offers a $50,000 guaranteed tournament it will attract X number of new players and buy ins from existing players. However, if a site offers $150,000 gtd tournament, it will attract something like X times 3.5 players! 

In other words, there is a multiple effect going on here with larger guarantees. It brings in new money from new sign ups and marketing geared towards the higher guarantees, along with more repeat deposits from existing players looking to chase the bigger score in a bigger guaranteed tournament. However, it requires many hours of late registration to achieve those higher guarantees! 

This is why sites have long late registration in a nutshell.

FYI, some players love late reg, others hate them. Long-term though, they are an effective marketing tool for offshore and locally regulated poker sites alike.

You can not win and you will lose if you continue to play after attempting to do so. This site is a rip off.

Stay Away!

So I would play and a table would freeze. And I cna close the table but it would show up at the top of the webpage tab that I am still on the table. Whatever money i had on the table is gone. It just vanishes.

And global didn't pay me back the first 5 times it happened. Then the next time it happened i decided to screen shot everything and show the hand history that the table I was on is not showing up in the hand history. So after doing all that they finally paid me back 1 time but the other times they never refunded me.

Their gaming commission told me its in their tos that if they have technical issues they are not responsible for my money.

Its also full of collusion. Like obvious collusion where you 3b someone behind min 4b then you get a cold caller and you call and see a flop and one bets the other shove and I have to fold and there is not much money left but the first person that bet ends up folding and not calling it off for a tiny amount. So they see saw people on the tables out of pots.

Players re noticing this and leaving the site. Their traffic is way down and I am done playing on the site for good.

When money is stolen out of my bankroll cause their tables there is no point. they have had issues 4 or 5 times where everyones bankroll is missing and they have to go through each account and put their money back in their account. So if everyone money is missing they give it back. But if 1 person money is missing they wont.

They are a very crooked company. Stay away from it.

Hello anon,

What gaming commission did you contact exactly? With whom did you speak? We would love to read over this correspondence of yours. If you feel like sharing, please contact us via email or Skype.

Sorry to hear that Global Poker screwed you over. It is a repeating theme for customers of GP.

Whoever is typing for PRB is a total straight shooter. He (or she) criticizes total strangers for being rude and then, comically and quite ironically, gives them a taste of their own medicine. Its fucking hilarious that PRB rep! I almost dont even care about is what the users have to say, because he cracks me up so much!

We do what we can to make poker, and this website, both informative, and entertaining!

I have played a ton of live poker over the last 10 plus years. Sometimes 4-6 nights a week for the span of months.
I realize that on occasion and sometimes a bit more than that there are freakish wins but on this site it is filled will baffling "one outers" that just seem to happen continually against you.
I HAVE made money here and cashed out three times but I quit for 4-5 months because of the unbelievable weirdness that isn't consistent with real poker.
Tonight I played $200 bucks and lost it in less than 3 hours playing many small 4-6 people sit and go tournaments (maybe 20 of them) never even placing in one. I can play poker. I have won many big live tournaments including a 20K free roll tournament among pros and took first place six times in a row in tournaments containing 40-80 people.
But I cannot win here. Not even close to 20% of what I spend anyway.
I cannot prove anything but when you play so often you know what to expect and can feel the flow of things.
I will never play again here and remember now why I stopped last time. I don't understand why it is so difficult to play a normal on line poker game that is based on real averages. This site seems to make up dramatic hands and scenarios that I never see in real life on a repeated basis.
I'm just very much done and feel ripped off.

Thanks for sharing your perspective on the games J C. We really do appreciate user feedback!

Pages

Add new comment

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.