You are here

Bovada Review

Bovada Logo

Bovada Poker Brags

✓ USA AcceptedUSA Tiny Flag
✓ 100% up to $500 poker bonus
✓ No-nonsense payouts
✓ Mobile- and Mac-compatible
✓ Fast-fold Zone Poker
✓ Jackpot Sit & Go combines poker and lottery
✓ Anonymous games are recreational-friendly
✓ Attached sportsbook, racebook, and casino

Bovada Poker Beats

x Mobile client doesn't support MTTs or SNGs
x Short 30-day bonus expiry
x Some may dislike anonymized tables





 

Professional Rakeback Bovada Review

Bovada, one of the most trusted online gaming brands in the United States, is descended from Bodog, a major online gambling site for more than two decades! The company offers a wide variety of products: online poker, sports betting, horse racing wagering, and online casino products. Bovada is a US-facing online gaming operation. The payouts are fast, and the Bovada brand is an A+ rated sportsbook. On any given day, you will find thousands of possible bets to be placed on every imaginable sporting event as well as hundreds of casino games from a multitude of trusted casino vendors. The poker room is also one of the largest rooms in the world. This is a great site for high-payout slots, blackjack, and other table games, exotic betting, robust parlay options, good lines and super-quick cashouts. Bovada also rewards loyalty; high-volume depositing players often find themselves invited to the Red Room where special rewards, promotions, and reload bonuses are handed out!

cta visit site

 

Bovada Bonuses

The Bovada sign-up bonuses are also very attractive with a possible $5,500 worth of sign-up bonuses available when signing up through Professional Rakeback (be sure to use Bitcoin as larger bonuses are offered to BTC depositors). Please note that these bonuses do vary by country of origin and may be more or less in some jurisdictions, but our figure of $5,500 in total deposit bonuses is valid for every U.S. gambler.

Bovada Poker Bonus

The poker deposit bonus is currently a 100% match up to $500. The poker welcome bonus is automatically applied to your first deposit when you create your account through Professional Rakeback; others may require bonus codes. These bonus codes fluctuate, but when you click through our links, the most current and largest bonus code available will be visible on-screen automatically. Like at most online gambling sites, these bonuses have play-through and roll-over requirements that must be met before withdrawal. Compared to the competition, these requirements are relatively middle of the pack with regard to difficulty to clear.

The poker bonus, which does not require any Bovada Poker bonus code, will be based upon the sum of all your deposits within 24 hours after your first. Thus, you can make multiple deposits if, for some reason, you don't want to or cannot fund your account in a single transaction. The bonus is valid for the total of your qualifying deposits up to a maximum of $500 in complimentary bonus cash. For the next 30 days after you deposit, you'll earn out pieces of the bonus as you collect poker points. Once you surpass any of the point thresholds listed below, the corresponding bonus amount will be added to your balance as real money the next day.

Bovada Poker Bonus Levels

Earning Points in Bovada Poker Ring Games

The rate of points accumulation in tournaments and SNGs is simple: You get three points for every dollar in fees you pay. In cash games, the formula is more complex, and it depends upon the rake you contribute to each hand.

Overall, this first deposit bonus is equal to 30% Bovada Poker rakeback if you work through the full $500 possible. In case you cannot complete the requirements for the entire bonus, you'll still do very well because the value of the bonus is front-loaded. That is, the first few segments of it deliver considerably more than 30% in cash-back. Taking the first two tiers and performing the necessary calculations, we see that they demand that you earn 85 poker points, which you'll accomplish by paying $28.33 in tourney fees. You'll then get back $25 in bonus for an effective Bovada rakeback rate of more than 88%!

Bovada accepts poker, sports, and casino players from the U.S.A., Mexico, Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Peru, and Venezuela.

Sign up today and see for yourself. Or continue reading on for our reviews of the other bonuses available, the poker room, the sportsbook, the casino and racebook. We also take an in-depth look at the deposit and withdrawal options, costs, time frames and much more.

create an account cta

Players in the USA, Mexico, and several other countries can sign up with Bovada for sports, racing, casino, and poker action.  The poker player pools on Bovada, Bodog, Ignition, and Bodog88 are the same - the brands are simply different for legal reasons, so you aren't missing out on anything by playing at the Bovada.lv poker skin.


STEP 1:  Clear your cookies - this is mandatory - you may not receive the best deposit bonuses if you neglect to do this step!  Click the appropriate browser button below for detailed instructions.

Google Chrome Clear Cookies Button Mozilla Firefox Clear Cookies Button Apple Safari Clear Cookies Button Internet Explorer Clear Cookies Button Opera Browser Clear Cookies Button Android Devices Clear Cookies Button

Step 2:  If you've previously installed the Bovada poker software, you must uninstall it now before continuing.

Step 3:  Click either the logo or the direct link provided to go to Bovada and open up your new account.

Bovada Casino Sign Up Link

If you use ad blocking software the banner may not be visible.

Try clicking this text link instead!

Bovada - USA + Mexico

Step 4:  Click on "Join Now" on the Bovada page.

Step 5:  Fill out your account information - this information must be correct and true!

Step 6:  Contact Us with your "customer ID number" and registered email address so that we may confirm that your account was created properly. You can acquire your "customer ID number" by emailing support or calling them on their toll-free telephone number: 1-888-263-0000.

Step 7: Deposit and enjoy! The first credit card deposit is free; however, subsequent credit card deposits will incur a 5.9% fee. Professional Rakeback recommends that all players deposit and withdraw via Bitcoin for access to the fastest, largest payouts. If you think Bitcoin is a pain to learn and use, think again! Read our bitcoin gambling guide for step-by-step, picture-assisted help in setting up your Bitcoin wallets.

US State Restrictions:   Unfortunately, Bovada is unable to accept new players from the following US states and territoriesDelaware, Maryland, Nevada, New Jersey, and New York.

HUD:  Did you want to use a HUD while playing? Unfortunately, the rules of the network are restrictive, and very few HUD programs are allowed. In fact, only one has seemingly passed the test. That program is Holdem Indicator.  Professional Rakeback offers an exclusive 10% discount on Holdem Indicator - and iHoldem Indicator for you Mac users. If you are interested in a review head over to our software page, and if you simply wish to make a purchase now, with a ten percent discount off the regular price of $99 USD, then all you need to do is click here for PC and here for Mac



Bovada Sports Bonus

New sports bettors can take advantage of a 50% up to $250 bonus deal automatically without the need to enter any bonus code at Bovada Sports. However, you can double this bonus money to a max of $500 when you make your first Bitcoin deposit and enter in the Bovada Sports bonus code BVSBITCOIN50. The match percentage remains at 50%.

Whichever of the two specials you opt for, you must place wagers equal to 5 times the deposit and bonus value added together. For example, if you deposit $500 to get the standard $250 bonus, you'll have to make bets totaling ($500 + $250) x 5 = $3,750 before the bonus will be cleared and you'll be able to withdraw your money. The sum that's contributed toward the rollover with each bet depends on whether or not the bet wins or loses. For losing wagers, it's the amount you put at risk that counts. For winning bets, it's the lesser of the risk amount and the win amount.

These sports bonuses are also valid in the racebook, and all the terms and conditions are identical. It's actually possible to deploy them in the casino as well, but this will cause your wagering obligations to jump to 30x the sum of your bonus and deposit. Furthermore, you'll be subject to the game weighting rules, which we describe in the next section below.

Bovada Casino Bonus

The Bovada Casino bonus code to use for most players is NEWWELCOME for a 100% up to $1,000 bonus match. This code is valid on three separate deposits, so you can collect up to $3,000 in free casino money. If you want to use Bitcoin to add funds to your account, then you have an even better option. Use bonus code BVCBITCOIN150 for a 150% up to $1,500 bonus reward. Just like the normal bonus, the BVCBITCOIN150 one can be used up to three times, for a total bounty of as much as $4,500.

Both of these bonus promos stipulate that you must roll over your deposit and attached bonus 25x in the casino. The only game that doesn't count toward the playthrough is craps, but the various other games contribute different percentages of your wagers toward your total as revealed in the Bovada Casino wagering contribution chart:

Bovada Casino Wagering Contributions Chart

BOVADA POKER Review & Information

Bovada is part of the Pai Wang Luo poker network. The PWL network is a worldwide poker network operating in 12 countries (USA, Australia, Canada, China, Vietnam, Mexico, Brazil, Argentina, Peru, Bolivia, Venezuela, and Chile). As of February 2017, they intend to expand into more Latin American and Asian countries heading into 2020. This network is the 6th largest online poker network in the world, behind PokerStars and 888, and is the biggest still remaining in the U.S. market. The games here are among the softest to be found anywhere!

Anonymized Tables

In 2011, under the direction of poker room manager Jonas Ödman, Bovada removed screennames from all its tables. While the decision was controversial at the time, it has remained a fixture at the site and is its most noteworthy defining feature. Everyone is listed solely as “Player 1,” “Player 2,” and so on. One of the effects of this change is that nobody can use tracking tools to get a handle on how his or her opponents play over the long term. Per-session trackers still work, but all the data gathered becomes useless once you leave the table.

Professional poker enthusiasts were mostly dismayed by the appearance of anonymous gameplay because it blunted the effectiveness of their sophisticated software packages. However, casual users loved it because it gave them a more level playing field. In time, even many of the pros came around because they realized that the ability to play at tables full of recreational pokerists more than compensates for the fact that most tracking and HUD packages are virtually useless.

Ring Games

Cash Games offered:
NLHE: 5NL - 2000NL
PLO: 5PLO - 2000PLO
PLO/8: 5PLO/8 - 2000PLO/8
L08: $0.25/$0.50 - $30/$60
FLHE: $0.05/$0.10 - $30/$60
Heads up, six max, and full ring are the game types offered in cash play.

The cash game traffic at Bovada blows every other U.S.-friendly online poker site out of the water. You can grab a seat at both micro-stakes and higher tables although the $0.01/$0.02 blind level that's found at most competing rooms is absent here. All games are accessed through a QuickSeat interface that was added to all PaiWangLuo network sites in April 2017. It makes table selection impossible; you choose your game format, table size, and stakes, and the software brings you to a matching seat and table. Games at around the $200-buyin level fill up rather quickly, and so do lower tables, but you might have to wait awhile to get action at high-stakes and in some of the “other” poker variants. You can only play up to four ring game tables at the same time.

Bovada Zone Poker

Zone (Zoom): 5NL - 200NL
Zone PLO: 5PLO - 25PLO
Zone NLO/8: 5NLO/8

Zone Poker was Bovada's response to Full Tilt's RUSH and PokerStars' Zoom Poker. Zone hit the scene in August 2013. It's a fast-fold product that lets players start new hands right away whenever they fold. The speed of seeing hands thus increases several times over because you don't have to wait for hands that you're not a part of to complete.

Zone Poker Lobby at Bovada

Zone is great for when you only have a few minutes to spare. It's also pretty useful whenever you have a bonus to clear because of the increased number of hands you can play per hour as compared to normal cash game tables. You can join up to two times in the same Zone pool and as many as four tables of Zone altogether – if, that is, your brain and fingers can keep up with the frenetic action!

Sit and Goes

Double Ups, Triple Ups, Regular, Turbo, Heads Up, 6max, 18 mans are all available.
Buy-ins range from $1 to $215

It's hard to get an accurate idea of SNG traffic at Bovada because you can't view games that are running, but reports from players across the internet suggest that the single-table tourneys are pretty busy here. On top of the normal NLHE contests in the formats listed above, there are also PLO and PLO/8 sit-n-gos present up to around the $100 level. If you're looking to ease your way into sit n' goes, then the Beginner events might be right for you. They pay out a larger portion of the field than is standard, reducing variance to a great extent.

Jackpot Sit & Gos

Available at $2, $7, $15, $30, and $60 buyins
Highest multiplier is 1,200

Jackpot Sit & Go, introduced near the end of October 2017, is a type of three-player competition that uses a randomly generated multiplier to determine the amount of the prize pool. The winner claims the entire pot except at the three highest multiplier values (1,200, 240, and 120) where second and third places each get 10% with 80% going to the victor. You can register for as many as four Jackpot Sit & Gos simultaneously. So far, these games are only spread in NL Hold'em form.

Tournaments

1.5 million dollars a week in guaranteed tournaments
Buyins from $1 to $270
$100,000 Sunday Major

Bovada hosts a very respectable schedule of weekly tourneys, culminating in the $150 + $12 $100,000 guaranteed on Sundays. There has been a growing trend at many poker operators to grab extra fees through innovations like re-entry and multiple entry. Bovada is immune to such pressures and keeps its tournament offerings largely confined to straight freezeouts although you can find the occasional R&A event as well. There are the Texas Hold'em MTTs that you would expect but also a surprising number of PLO, PLO/8, and LO8 tournaments as well.

Bovada MTT Lobby

When it comes to special series, Bovada is one of the leading sites around. They pop up fairly often and typically consist of more than 50 events with prizes running into the millions of dollars. Some examples of these prominent tourney series are the Black Diamond Poker Open and the Golden Spade Poker Open.

Poker Points Exchange

While it's important that you earn points to clear your Bovada.lv poker bonus, they actually have another use too. You can trade them in for poker tournament tickets. The rate when exchanged for tourney buyins is 200 points = $1. You can choose from a $2 + $0.20 entry for 440 points all the way up to a $250 + $20 ticket that costs 54,000 points and many options in between.

create an account cta

Payouts | Cashouts | Fees | General Cashier Information

The following is detailed information compiled by Professional Rakeback as regards the options available to our players on Bovada. These methods apply to any and all funds deposited and withdrawn whether they be for poker, sports betting, or online casino play. For the record, Bovada is the fastest paying US gambling site available to Americans post-Black Friday. Checks up to $3,000 are delivered to US players often in under five business days and in some cases as quickly as a twenty-four hour turnaround time! We keep extensive ongoing records of Bovada's current payout performance in our Monthly Offshore Gaming Cashout Report; historical data is also available. Depositing is also quite easy and efficient, with minimum deposits for most methods a mere $20 (far less than most competing sportsbooks and casinos who offer $50 minimums).

Payout Method Information:

Our Recommended Cashout Method

Bitcoin - BTC - Avg wait time of 15 hours.
March 2016: Bovada has finally implemented Bitcoin deposits and withdrawals! If you're unfamiliar with how to use Bitcoin, check out our step-by-step Bitcoin gambling set up guide.
One payout allowed per 3 days - clients are recommended to deposit via this method to ensure this payout method is available.
Min withdrawal: $10; Maximum withdrawal: $9,500; No fees, free!

Checks - Average wait of around 10 business days to receive after request.
Min cashout: $100; Max cashout: $3,000
One payout allowed per 7 days.
Fee: One free per 90 days - $100 fee per additional check

Deposit Method Information:

Depositing on Bovada and Pai Wang Luo network is easy and fast for all players. In the U.S.A., Bovada players have the ability to deposit via their Visa and MasterCard credit and debit cards and Bitcoin. In Latin America, deposit options vary greatly by country, but Bitcoin and credit card deposits are accepted in all supported countries. Please note that bank wire deposits are sometimes granted to high volume depositors.

All deposits via credit card are near instantaneous. Bitcoin is typically credited within fifteen minutes after being sent although this will depend upon the miners fee you opt to add to your transaction. While BTC fees have historically been well under $1, they have been increasing of late, and you might have to spend as much as $15 to expedite your deposit. This is out of Bovada's hands and is a consequence of congestion on the Bitcoin network.

ProfRB Recommended Cashout Method

Bitcoin / BTC - Crypto Currency Deposits
Maximum deposit: $5,000 USD equivalent
Minimum deposit: $10 USD equivalent
Fee: Free

Credit Card Deposits- MasterCard and Visa
Minimum deposit $20; maximum deposit $1,500
See below for credit card deposit tips
Deposit limit of $1,500
5.9% fee, but your first-ever deposit is free
Limits for repeat depositors can often times be raised upon request. Simply dial Bovada by telephone at 1-888-263-0000.

Update: October 2017

Bitcoin Cash is a newish crypto-currency that was forked off of the main Bitcoin blockchain at the beginning of August 2017. Bovada.lv has added support for this digital coin. Unfortunately, it can only currently be used for deposits, not withdrawals. Yet, there are distinct advantages to Bitcoin Cash, including the fact that fees are less than 1/10 what they are with old-school Bitcoin. The process hasn't been automated in the cashier as of this writing, so you'll have to call Bovada during weekday business hours, and they'll give you further instructions. We don't have any data on minimum and maximum valid transaction sizes because this info hasn't been made public, so you'll have to inquire about them when you call. Learn how to buy and use Bitcoin Cash.

BOVADA SPORTS Review & Information

The sportsbook is what kicked off the entire Bodog/Bovada empire way back in the '90s. In 2011, Bovada was spun off the firm as its U.S.-friendly arm, providing not only sports betting but a full suite of gaming products to its customers. The focus here is definitely on the recreational bettor, so you might see some strange lines, but this provides you with an opportunity if you can identify irregularities in Bovada's handicapping.

Sportsbook Options and Coverage

Bovada's sportsbook interface is typical of American betting sites. A clean-looking and easy-to-navigate text interface dominates the sports screen. Bets can easily be placed online via any PC or Mac or via virtually any Android or iPhone (iOS) device. Navigating the menu and tabs is a breeze easily allowing one to place many bets within a few minutes' time. When zooming in on any specific event, the various prop bets and parlays are easily accessible for those of you with a little more gamble in you.

Bovada Sportsbetting Interface

Bovada Sports Betslip

Bovada offers one of the largest variety of betting options available. Players can bet on a plethora of professional and college sports including, but not limited to, American football, soccer, tennis, boxing, basketball, baseball, UFC, golf, and pretty much any other sport played. There are also many other types of events to bet on such as who will win an Oscar or a Grammy this year, what political figure will win the next upcoming election, and much more. You have your choice of single wagers, parlays that string consecutive wins together, teasers that let you move the points spread to advantage yourself, round robins that allow you to combine several parlays together, and several other styles of betting. Needless to say, there's a full roster of props and futures for your delectation as well.

Bovada Sports Live Betting

You can conduct in-play wagering within the Live Betting section. Bovada has oddsmakers who watch the games happening in real time and work hard to continuously update the lines. This means you can put your action down even while matches are in progress. Every sporting contest carried by Bovada isn't listed in the Live section, but most of the popular matchups in the most widely viewed leagues are. The Live Betting selections are contained in a separate window from the normal sports platform, but you can see which markets have Live wagering supported because they will show a “LIVE” icon next to them.

Live Betting at Bovada

BOVADA CASINO Review & Information

At last count, the online casino at Bovada offered over two hundred and fifty games. A few examples of the types of games offered include blackjack, craps, Caribbean stud, keno, video slots, poker variants, video poker, baccarat, progressive slots, bingo, scratch games, roulette, and other various card and table games. These titles come from a variety of popular, safe, and well-tested software providers such as Realtime Gaming, Spinomenal, and Rival to name a few.

Bovada Casino Lobby

Slots

Most of the games available are slot machines because they're what the people want to play. These aren't your grandfather's slots – some of them have dozens of paylines, scatter symbols, bonus features, expanding wilds, and other elements that weren't even dreamed of by old-school, brick-and-mortar slot gamers of the past.

Bovada Casino Slot Machine: Fast & Sexy

The Fast & Sexy Slot Game at Bovada Casino

Casino Leaderboards

The newest feature at Bovada Casino is casino leaderboards. Every day, there are a few of these contests running for particular games. They're pretty short in duration, mostly less than half an hour long, and they're free to enter. Once you join, you'll receive points for every game round you play with additional points awarded for winning spins/hands. At the end of the stated time period, the top few people on the leaderboard will receive prizes, which are usually bonuses with a small 5x rollover requirement. Of course, you'll also collect your normal payouts from the game as well.

Bovada Casino Leaderboards

Each leaderboard is listed with the time it starts and the game it's for. There are a few rules in effect, such as a minimum bet size and minimum number of rounds that need to be played to qualify. These restrictions are normally pretty easy to fulfill with many contests having a minimum of 1 spin or hand to become eligible for prizes and bet sizes of $1 or even lower permitted. You can view the rankings at any time while a leaderboard is active so that you can see if you're near the top or if you still have some work to do to get there. We've seen leaderboards finish with all participants paid because the field was so small!

Live Dealer

The Bovada.lv casino contains a Live Dealer section with four different games. They are Blackjack, Roulette (both American and European varieties), Baccarat, and Super 6. These tables are operated by a human dealer, and the action is broadcast over the internet for you to view on your computer.

There are a number of additional actions you can take in Live Dealer games that aren't available in the standard casino. You can tip the dealer, just as you could in an offline casino. Additionally, it's possible to “bet behind” an individual at a table if there's no open seat for you to occupy.

BOVADA RACEBOOK Review & Information

The horses section of Bovada covers close to 200 racetracks with a heavy concentration on the United States but with quite a few British and Irish tracks present as well. All the races are thoroughbred, quarter-track, or harness horse events; there's no greyhound racing supported. Betting opens, in most cases, at 9:00 a.m. ET on the day of the race, but the markets are available several days or weeks in advance of major events.

Racetrack Betting Options

The overwhelming majority of the betting here is pari-mutuel in nature. This means that nobody knows the real odds in advance. The lines you see are just estimates. After all the wagers are collected at the track and the results are determined, the appropriate pools of money are split up amongst the winners, and this determines how much each person gets who holds a winning ticket. Bovada pays out the full track odds that the racing facilities do, so there's no possibility of any funny business going on here. There are a limited number of fixed-odds opportunities available, like the Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes, but apart from these few occasions, the pari-mutuel system is adhered to.

The Racebook at Bovada

The menu of bets available is extensive and includes basically whatever you could hope to see, including:

  • Win/Place/Show
  • Exacta
  • Trifecta
  • Quinella
  • Superfecta
  • Boxed/wheeled bets
  • Daily Double
  • Pick 3
  • Pick 4

Racing Betting and Payout Limits

The tracks are divided into categories A, B, C, and D. The maximum allowed wagers and highest possible payouts are for Category A while the lowest are found in Category D. Actually, there's a category for “Special Races” that has maximums even beyond those in Category A, but these are prestigious events that only occur a few times per year. Here's a full breakdown of these numbers:

Category Max Payout Max Stake - Straight Max Stake - Exotic
Special $50,000 $1,000 $500
A $30,000 $500 $300
B $15,000 $500 $200
C $10,000 $300 $150
D $5,000 $200 $100

 

Bovada Rewards

The Bovada Rewards system is for casino game players, racing fans, and sports bettors. Notably, none of the rewards distributed through this program are for poker play. Nevertheless, grinding your favorite card games won't preclude you from claiming any of the perks that are your due from the other gambling you engage in. You'll earn points for every dollar you devote to the real money gaming pastimes of your choice. As you collect these points, you'll advance through the tiers of Bovada Rewards. Each level is entitled to a certain percentage of cashback on daily losses as well as the ability to trade points in for bonuses at rates that get better the higher you climb in the ranks. These bonuses have rollover requirements of 2x in sports/horses and 10x in the casino while the rollover associated with cashback is just 1x regardless of the type of gambling used to clear it.

Every wager you make in a qualifying Bovada product will grant you a different number of points depending on the type of bet it is:

Points Earned With Each Bet at Bovada

Here are the levels of the program, the benefits associated with them, and the number of points you must amass to be inducted into each level. Please note that you can never drop back down in rank. All your progress will remain intact, ready for you to continue your advancement with the placement of further bets.

Tiers in the Bovada Rewards Program

Red Room

The Red Room is Bovada's invitation-only VIP parlor. It's not exactly clear what one must do to gain access to this club, but undoubtedly, your playing and depositing history will be taken into consideration. If you're fortunate enough to become a Red Room member, then your deposit and withdrawal fees will be waived, you'll earn VIP points at twice the normal rate, you'll become eligible for exclusive bonuses, and you'll enjoy superior customer service attention. Perhaps the most valuable benefit of the Red Room is that its players get all-expenses-paid trips to Vegas, tickets to premier sporting events, and other unique experiences that aren't open to the general public.

Bovada Mobile

You can play poker, bet on sports, wager on the ponies, and play casino games from your desktop, laptop, or mobile. The company has invested a lot of resources in its responsive website, which will reposition all gameplay elements to fit on your screen no matter what size it is. As long as your computing device is sophisticated enough to run modern web browsers, you should encounter no stumbling blocks. Almost every piece of hardware released in the past 5 years should suffice. The only thing lacking from the Bovada mobile suite is that the web poker room doesn't have normal SNGs or multi-table tournaments, but it does feature all the cash games from the desktop version, including Zone Poker, along with the lottery-style Jackpot Sit & Go format.

Bovada FAQ Banner Divider

Frequently Asked Questions

How old do I have to be to participate in the games on Bovada? - Bovada and the entire Pai Wang Luo Poker Network allow players from all supported countries to create accounts at the age of 18. Once a person reaches the "age of majority," 18 or less in most worldwide jurisdictions, they are considered an adult and eligible to play on these sites.

Do I need to make separate accounts for sports, racing, casino, and poker? - No, you can do everything all with the same account. Whatever types of betting you want to do, you'll find that your real money balance transfers seamlessly across the entire Bovada gambling lineup.

Is Bovada the same as Bodog? - No, they are separate firms. They do share their sportsbook and casino software along with the poker client and traffic on the PaiWangLuo Network, but they have different cashier options and promotions. Bovada was spun off of Bodog in 2011 to serve the United States, and Bodog remains outside of this lucrative market.

Is Bovada the same as Ignition Casino? - No, and the tale behind this confusion is a long and complex one. In late 2016, Bovada closed down its poker room, and existing poker accounts were transferred over to newcomer Ignition Casino Poker by Sept. 30. Bovada continued with its sportsbook, racebook, and casino products, but it did not have a poker setup during this time. However, Bovada.lv reentered the poker ecosystem in August 2017. Since that time, both Bovada and Ignition offer poker and casino gambling services to United States residents, but Ignition lacks a sportsbook and a racebook.

Is Bovada as large as PokerStars? - No, Bovada has been growing rapidly in the past few years, but it's still not at the same peak in player volume that PokerStars represents. PokerStars is the largest poker site in the world, Bovada is in fourth place and it is just a bit smaller than PartyPoker, 888poker, and Winamax. But on the other hand, the games at Bovada are quite juicy compared to these other rooms and easier to beat. Furthermore, all of these other sites don't do business with U.S. gamblers. Of the internet poker rooms that do service Americans, Bovada is the largest.

Do I have to accept sports and casino bonuses even if I don't want them? - If you intend to devote your energies principally to poker and aren't interested in sports and casino games, then we advise you to forfeit the bonuses for these divisions of Bovada. You can do so without incident from the My Account page while logged into the Bovada website. Having active bonuses will restrict your ability to withdraw funds until the wagering requirements are completed, so we counsel you to forfeit unwanted bonuses rather than letting them sit around and possibly interfere with your cashouts.

What are the system requirements to run Bovada Poker? - All the Bovada gaming software can be run through the web, so anyone with a computer, tablet, or smartphone of relatively recent vintage can play poker on his or her machine. However, tournaments and sit-n-gos, apart from Jackpot Sit & Gos, are not present in mobile poker, so if you want to join these games, you'll have to commence the Bovada Poker download and run the software on your system. Your computer should meet these recommended specifications to ensure that you don't encounter any problems:

PC:

  • OS - Windows 7+
  • CPU - Intel Core Duo or later
  • RAM - at least 1 GB
  • Display - min 1024 x 768 resolution @ 32-bit color
  • HDD - 200MB or more free
  • Flash Player version 16+

Mac:

  • OS - OS X 10.7 (64 bit) or more recent
  • CPU - Intel Core Duo or later
  • RAM - at least 1 GB
  • HDD - 250MB or more free
  • Flash Player version 16+

If you are interested in playing online poker in the US market, Professional Rakeback recommends that you check out our US Poker Sites page for information on all of the poker and rakeback options available to you in your particular state.

Comments

My Bovada account was hacked and a withdrawal was requested. My account email and password were changed. The hacker also signed me up for hundreds of accounts so my email got spammed with signup confirmations to hundreds of businesses/newsletters. I believe the goal here was to "hide" the withdrawal request email among the spam and hopefully I wouldn't see it.

Luckily I noticed the withdrawal email and immediately tried to login to my Bovada account and was unable to. The chat support was obviously low level and within a few minutes of verifying that fishy stuff was going on, they gave me a number to call. I was immediately escalated to an account security department and it was all taken care of and my account restored. Total length of phone call was 20:10.

My post on reddit

Hotwir3

*Update* Someone named Sean called me from Bovada and basically said, we are sorry you had an issue. We want to offer you $10 for your inconvenience. $10. I said how about we meet halfway from my original request of $100 and make it $50? He said, sorry, all we will offer is $10, take it or leave it. He/ Bovada still did not understand that by compensating me just $50 would have kept me as a customer, and that they would, most likely, get that $50 back, since I would have bet it and most likely lost. It also would have prevented me from writing negative reviews which, hopefully, will prevent at least a few people from becoming customers (more lost money for them).

Please DO NOT do business with Bovada. Customer service is TERRIBLE - they are difficult to work with and quite argumentative; even the supervisor, named Shavora, that I ended up speaking with was unpleasant. They may feel the same about me, but I was really trying to be fair and reasonable.

Details: I had a bet that was originally settled as "void", when it should have been settled as a "win"; therefore, my winnings were not available for me to bet. Eventually, it was settled as a "win" and funds were added to my account. When I inquired about this and asked for some sort of compensation for my trouble, I suggested $100 but would have accepted less, their response was, basically, sorry we can't do anything for you; we don't believe you and don't believe that the bet was ever settled as void; and we don't care if you continue to be a customer or not.

This poor review is not about losing money. I won some and lost some; lost more than I won. But anyone who gambles like this, knows that they are much more likely to lose than to win. At the time this issue occurred, I had deposited, bet and lost over $1,000 (which went to Bovada's income). Yet they were still unwilling to work with me to resolve the matter and keep my business. My issue is with their poor customer service and poor business decision.

*Update* Someone named Sean called me from Bovada and basically said, we are sorry you had an issue. We still don't believe you, but to show how caring we are about our customers, we want to offer you $10 for your inconvenience. $10. I said how about we meet halfway from my original request of $100 and make it $50? He said, sorry, all we will offer is $10, take it or leave it. He/ Bovada still did not understand that by compensating me just $50 would have kept me as a customer, and that they would, most likely, get that $50 back, since I would have bet it and most likely lost. It also would have prevented me from writing negative reviews which, hopefully, will prevent at least a few people from becoming customers (more lost money for them). PLEASE STAY AWAY FROM BOVADA!

Sounds like they offered you compensation for your time on the phone. It was not the amount you wanted, but they made an effort. The edges in sports betting are small, as are the operator's margins. Giving back 1% of a customer's action is a pretty big concession for a sports book. You were asking for ten times that!

Thank you for sharing your story with us, although we see you have shared it on other affiliate websites as well. We think you were compensated fairly given the size of your action with them.

And although we disagree with your conclusion, we are going to approve this comment and post it on our website. We are doing so in order to provide a fair and balanced review so that potential customers can make their own, fully informed, decisions.